The Things Folks Give Away – Why I Love Freecycle!

Today, I managed to become one very lucky bunny indeed, I was idly leafing through my emails and spotted an ad from our local Freecycle group for something I have been trying to win for ages. I say win, as it is an item on my wish list that is currently way out of reach for my meagre budget.

Now, I feel a little like a lottery winner!

It just goes to show that there IS good karma in life, all those rather expensive at the time toys, clothes and baby equipment that I gave away as BabyMibs was growing up have come back to me bigtime today!

Now all I need is some nice kind supermarket to send me some vouchers so I can actually put some food into it! ( cheeky I know, but you just never know!)

Else it’ll be some time yet before any food graces the shelves!

I kinda spent out with all the moving house costs!

Do spend some of these wintry evenings going through cupboards etc and clearing out what you have no use for anymore, obviously if you can make a little extra spending/bill money by selling then that’s a sensible thing to do, but don’t forget Freecycle, it’s a great way of passing on a little bit of karma, and you just never know, one day it could be YOU in need of something that’s just a bit out of reach!

2 Comments

Filed under General Daily Blurb, Thrifty Tips

2 responses to “The Things Folks Give Away – Why I Love Freecycle!

  1. lucky you, I need another fridge or fridge freezer to keep all Bobs food separate from ours to save cross contamination.
    Like you say stuff goes within minutes of being on so well done for being right place right time

  2. *YES* I love Freecycle too, have been a lucky recipient and a massive giver many times over the years. One of the best things ever to have come out of the Internet for sure. I tell people about the site wherever possible. My lounge chandelier and bedroom wallpaper were amazing things bestowed on me from the site. I once gave away 18 handbags/bags in a mega clearout myself. And clothes, given and received. There is a buzz from just ‘giving’ which is a pretty peerless feeling I think. You know you are making someone very, very happy. I remember a day when I had 10 different folk turn up to my flat throughout the day to collect different things, it was such a cool way to meet members of my community I’d probably never have seen otherwise.

    Unfortunately, the site is also exploited but you just need to employ some canny smarts to spot those who just dive on everything you offer sans discriminations. But largely it is an absolute Godsend when you are on a budget and needing to forego much in life.

Leave a Reply

